Biomega Bikes

I just stumbled upon the Biomega distributer’s website in Sydney.  Biomega bikes are well known for employing innovative designers, notably Marc Newson and Ross Lovegrove, to design bikes that break the trend of traditional bike design.  They have a store, Sable and Argent, on Bourke St, Wooloomooloo.  I am curious to wander down there sometime soon and check out some of these bikes in the flesh.  The price tags are quite prohibitive though.  Marc Newson’s MN Stravagante and Ross Lovegrove’s RL Bamboo retail for $AUD 12,900 and $AUD 9,200 respectively.  That’s a whole lot of money for a city bike!  My carbon-fibre racing bike doesn’t even come close to this price tag!  I still don’t know if I like either of them.  They employ some cool ideas like shaft drives and whacky frame materials – ‘superplastic aluminium’ to be precise.  But there’s something to be said for the timeless twin triangle design of a bike that’s hard to beat.  My personal bike, the Ibis Mojo, is one design where designer Roxy Lo took a good stab at breaking the mould of the twin triangle and produced, in my opinion, a beautifully sculpted yet functional bicycle.  It all comes down to personal preference, but in the end I find both Newson and Lovegrove’s bikes a bit ugly.  I’d still like to try them – perhaps some of their innovations have tapped into that ‘magic ride quality’ that is the holy grail of every bike designer.  Check out the distributer’s blog here for more information on their line of bikes.

mn01

Marc Newson’s MN Stravagante 01

bamboo1-small

Ross Lovegrove’s RL Bamboo

~ by Carlos on 10/11/2009.

2 Responses to “Biomega Bikes”

  1. Nice bikes.

    Hey Carlos, I’m in Sydney this week. Flying back to Sweden on Saturday. Pastizzis?

    • Hey Mikael, I just sent you an email. Let me know when you’re around.
      Carlos.

Leave a Reply

 
